National news

Andrew Griffiths resigns as chairman of parliamentary beer group

Written by Steve Bury

Burton MP Andrew Griffiths is to step down as chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group following his appointment as a member of the Government Whips’ Office. Parliamentary rules mean members of the Government are not allowed to chair all-party groups.

Tory MP Mr Griffiths has been chairman of the Beer Group for five years. During his time as Chair he received the CAMRA “parliamentary campaigner of the year” award in 2015. The award was not well received by some who objected to Griffith’s connections to the Pub Co’s.

He said: “It has been a huge honour and a privilege to represent one of the UK’s vital industries, and one that it is so important to Burton, and to chair what I believe to be the best all-party group in Parliament”. The purpose of the All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group is: “To promote the wholesomeness and enjoyment of beer and the unique role of the pub in UK society; to increase understanding of the social, cultural and historic role of brewing and pubs in the UK and their value to tourism; to broaden recognition of the contribution of brewing and pubs to employment and to the UK’s economy; to promote understanding of the social responsibility exercised by the brewing and pub industries; to support the UK’s brewing industry worldwide”.

Financial benefits sources received by the group:

Punch Taverns: £5,500 received 05/05/2015
Stonegate Pub Taverns: £2,700 received 01/06/2015
SAB Miller: £5,610 received 06/07/2015

Leave a Comment